Western Capri – Tulsa, Oklahoma – gone

November 2, 2008 at 9:18 pm Leave a comment

Back in 2005 my family stopped in the western side of Tulsa, Ok on route 44 (also old route 66). I asked the owner of the Western Capri if I could snap a few pictures. He was somewhat hesitant because the sign was not working 100%. I spoke with him and convinced him to let me snap a few photos. The odd part was that that I could only see one piece of neon that was flickering and the sign was in better shape than 99% of the signs I see out there. The sign ended up falling to the wrecking ball in 2006 and the rest of the story is here.

First is a full photo and then some ‘artsy’ ones that I like. The most unusual part of this sign was the square pillar on the top. Normally when I see those, they are round. This is a fantastic sign with some great elements: 4 colors, 3 fonts, huge boomerang arrow, square pillar, internally lit word (Western), outlined font (Capri & Motel) and the arrow flashed! Sad to see this one gone.

Entry filed under: Photos. Tags: , , , , , .

Springdale Shops – Oklahoma City, OK And now a word from 1960….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Counter

site stats

